Events

Courses and programs for Fall 2019:

A Book By YOU? How to Get It Written, Published, and Promoted, SOLD OUT!  Saturday, November 2, publishing workshop with Ken Lizotte, chief imaginative officer of emerson consulting group.

FEATURED EVENT, SOLD OUT!
Book Discussion: What Would Henry Do?
Saturday, November 2, A discussion moderated by Ken Lizotte, president of Thoreau Farm, with featured essayists from our book, What Would Henry Do?: Essays for the 21st Century

     Mary Bergman, commentator for NPR’s A Cape Cod Notebook
     Lawrence Buell, Powell M. Cabot Professor of American Literature Emeritus at Harvard University
     Holly Nadler, TV comedy writer for Barney Miller, Laverne & Shirley and One Day At A Time
     Richard Primack, author of Walden Warming: Climate Change Comes to Thoreau’s Woods

Fungipedia: A Brief Compendium of Mushroom Lore, Sunday, November 3, a talk with Lawrence Millman. He is an arctic explorer, mycologist, and author of 17 books, including Our Like Will Not Be There AgainLast PlacesFascinating Fungi of New England, and At the End of the World. Millman will discuss his latest book, Fungipedia: A Brief Compendium of Mushroom Lore.

PAST EVENTS

A Primer for Forgetting, SOLD OUT! Tuesday, October 29, a talk with Lewis Hyde. He is a MacArthur Fellow and former director of Creative Writing at Harvard University. Hyde is the author of Trickster Makes This World: Mischief, Myth, and Art and The Gift: Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World, as well as a book of poems, This Error Is the Sign of Love. Hyde will discuss his latest book, A Primer for Forgetting. Email info@thoreaufarm.org to get on our waiting list.

The writing workshop is filled! Please email info@thoreaufarm.org to get on our waiting list. Listening for the Different Drumbeat: Writing from Your Original Point of View, SOLD OUT! Saturday, October 19 through Sunday, October 20, a two-day writing workshop with Heidi Jon Schmidt.  She is the author, most recently, of The Harbormaster’s Daughter and The House on Oyster Creek. Her fiction and essays have been published in The AtlanticThe New York TimesThe Boston Globe, among others, and she is the winner of an O.Henry Award for Fiction.  She teaches writing at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, MA.

SOLD OUT! How to Write Deliberately, Saturday, September 28, a talk by John Hanson Mitchell, author of Ceremonial Time: Fifteen Thousand Years on One Square MileWalking Towards Walden: A Pilgrimage in Search of Place, and A Field Guide to Your Own Backyard: A Seasonal Guide to the Flora and Fauna of the Eastern U.S., among othersHe is also the founding editor of  Massachusetts Audubon’s award-winning journal Sanctuary. 

More Liberal Than Any Mind Among Us: Margaret Fuller In Concord
A talk by historian Richard Smith at Thoreau Farm on Monday, July 15, 7pm

Margaret Fuller was a force unto herself; writer, editor, social reformer, literary critic, there have been few women like her. Beginning in 1835, when she met Ralph Waldo Emerson, Fuller began a decade long relationship with not only Emerson, but the poets, writers and philosophers that called Concord home.

Join historian Richard Smith as we remember Margaret Fuller on the 169th Anniversary of her untimely death. Richard will discuss Margaret’s life in Concord, a place she visited regularly and loved. In this entertaining and educational talk you’ll hear about Fuller’s life and loves, as well as her ups and downs with Emerson, Thoreau, Hawthorne and the Alcotts. Some Concordians thought her “extraordinary”; others weren’t so sure that she was!

This event is free, but seating is limited. Email info@ThoreauFarm.org to reserve your seat!
Light refreshments will be served.
This event is co-sponsored by The Write Connection and Thoreau Farm: Birthplace of Henry David Thoreau and The Thoreau Society.

Henry’s 202nd Birthday, Friday, July 12

Henry’s 202nd birthday is this Friday, July 12. Stop by from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Thoreau Farm will have free admission and free tours.There will be birthday cake and lemonade served all day or until it runs out.
Tour the house where Thoreau was born, picnic on the grounds, and come back at 6 p.m. for an art show featuring prints of some of Thoreau’s Journal entries by children’s book author and illustrator
Donna Przybojewski. Donna, a middle school teacher from Garfield, Ohio, will discuss her illustrations depicting Thoreau’s Journal. Donna is the author of many books introducing children to Henry David Thoreau, which include, “Henry David Thoreau: Who Can He Be?”, “Born in the Nick of Time,” and “Henry David Thoreau Loved the Seasons of the Year.”

Read on for more past events!

Lawrence Millman will discuss, then read from his latest book, “The Book of Origins: Rude Tales from the Big Bang to the Big Now,” Sunday, Feb. 17, 2pm, Thoreau Farm, FREE 

Nothing is sacred to writer and Arctic explorer Lawrence Millman. In “The Book of Origins,” Millman explores religion, politics, sex, technology, science, and money. And, through his cold eye, all are equally skewered in this sarcastic, irreverent, and witty book of vignettes.

If you like tales in the tradition of George Carlin, Jonathan Swift, and Italo Calvino, you will enjoy this event.

For more information and to RSVP info@thoreaufarm.org. Seating is limited. Light refreshments will be served.

This event is Free and open to the public.

Sponsored by The Write Connection/Writing Seminars and Author Talks at Thoreau Farm, and the Thoreau Society.

2nd Annual Super Cup Fungus Sunday
Sunday, Feb. 3, 2018 , 1pm-3pm, Estabrook Woods
Monument Street entrance

Join us for our 2nd Super Cup Fungus Sunday!

Mycologist Lawrence Millman will be our foray leader on a mushroom identification walk to rival all other winter mushroom activities.

“The Super Cup Fungus Sunday provides an alternative to Thoreau-minded individuals who think that Super Bowl Sunday is a total bore,” said Lawrence Millman.   “We will be searching not only for super cup fungi, but also other interesting winter species.   The focus will be on ecology and not, definitely not, edibility.  In fact, any participant who mentions the word “edibility” will be expelled from the walk!”

Super Cup Fungus Sunday is FREE and open to the public; however, it is capped at 16 participants. Please R.S.V.P. by emailing margaretcb@thoreaufarm.org. Details about carpooling from Keyes Parking Lot in Concord to follow, as parking is limited at Estabrook Woods.

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm and the Thoreau Society.

READ ON FOR MORE PAST EVENTS

Celebrate with us: Thoreau Farm’s 20th Anniversary this weekend, Nov. 17-18!

 “A Principled Life,” featuring historians Robert Gross and Jayne Gordon and documentary filmmaker Joseph Stillman as the panelists; and Jack Beatty, WBUR’s On Point news analyst  as moderator

Saturday, November 17, 2018, 3 pm, Concord Academy’s Performing Arts Center.

“Citizen Clark… A Life of Principle”

Following the panel discussion at 4pm will be a screening of the film, “Citizen Clark … A Life of Principle,” a documentary about former U.S. Attorney General Ramsey Clark, followed by a Q & A with director Joseph Stillman.

The Nov. 17 events are open to the public. A $10 donation is suggested at the door. Please RSVP Margaretcb@thoreaufarm.org .

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm and the Thoreau Society.

READ ON FOR MORE PAST EVENTS:
Celebrate with us! Thoreau Farm’s 20th Anniversary

Join Thoreau Farm Trust as the Town of Concord dedicates a plaque to those who contributed to the initial acquisition of the Breen Farmstead/Thoreau Birth House
Sunday, November 18, 2018, 1:30 pm
, Thoreau Farm

This event is free and open to the public.

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm, the Thoreau Society and the Town of Concord.

READ ON FOR MORE EVENTS:

Former Thoreau Farm Trust president Lucille Stott

Lucille Stott, former president of Thoreau Farm Trust, presents her new book, “Saving Thoreau’s Birthplace: How Citizens Rallied to Bring Henry Out of the Woods”

 Sun., Nov., 18, 2 pm, Thoreau Farm
The book launch will be followed by an author reception and book signing.

The Sunday, August 18 events are FREE and open to the public. Light refreshments will be served. Please RSVP to Margaretcb@Thoreaufarm.org .

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm and the Thoreau Society.