Events

Lawrence Millman will discuss, then read from his latest book, “The Book of Origins: Rude Tales from the Big Bang to the Big Now,” Sunday, Feb. 17, 2pm, Thoreau Farm, FREE 

Nothing is sacred to writer and Arctic explorer Lawrence Millman. In “The Book of Origins,” Millman explores religion, politics, sex, technology, science, and money. And, through his cold eye, all are equally skewered in this sarcastic, irreverent, and witty book of vignettes.

If you like tales in the tradition of George Carlin, Jonathan Swift, and Italo Calvino, you will enjoy this event.

For more information and to RSVP info@thoreaufarm.org. Seating is limited. Light refreshments will be served.

This event is Free and open to the public.

Sponsored by the Write Connection/Writing Seminars and Author Talks at Thoreau Farm, and the Thoreau Society.

PAST EVENTS

2nd Annual Super Cup Fungus Sunday
Sunday, Feb. 3, 2018 , 1pm-3pm, Estabrook Woods
Monument Street entrance

Join us for our 2nd Super Cup Fungus Sunday!

Mycologist Lawrence Millman will be our foray leader on a mushroom identification walk to rival all other winter mushroom activities.

“The Super Cup Fungus Sunday provides an alternative to Thoreau-minded individuals who think that Super Bowl Sunday is a total bore,” said Lawrence Millman.   “We will be searching not only for super cup fungi, but also other interesting winter species.   The focus will be on ecology and not, definitely not, edibility.  In fact, any participant who mentions the word “edibility” will be expelled from the walk!”

Super Cup Fungus Sunday is FREE and open to the public; however, it is capped at 16 participants. Please R.S.V.P. by emailing margaretcb@thoreaufarm.org. Details about carpooling from Keyes Parking Lot in Concord to follow, as parking is limited at Estabrook Woods.

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm and the Thoreau Society.

READ ON FOR MORE PAST EVENTS

Celebrate with us: Thoreau Farm’s 20th Anniversary this weekend, Nov. 17-18!

 “A Principled Life,” featuring historians Robert Gross and Jayne Gordon and documentary filmmaker Joseph Stillman as the panelists; and Jack Beatty, WBUR’s On Point news analyst  as moderator

Saturday, November 17, 2018, 3 pm, Concord Academy’s Performing Arts Center.

“Citizen Clark… A Life of Principle”

Following the panel discussion at 4pm will be a screening of the film, “Citizen Clark … A Life of Principle,” a documentary about former U.S. Attorney General Ramsey Clark, followed by a Q & A with director Joseph Stillman.

The Nov. 17 events are open to the public. A $10 donation is suggested at the door. Please RSVP Margaretcb@thoreaufarm.org .

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm and the Thoreau Society.

READ ON FOR MORE EVENTS:
Celebrate with us! Thoreau Farm’s 20th Anniversary

Join Thoreau Farm Trust as the Town of Concord dedicates a plaque to those who contributed to the initial acquisition of the Breen Farmstead/Thoreau Birth House
Sunday, November 18, 2018, 1:30 pm
, Thoreau Farm

This event is free and open to the public.

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm, the Thoreau Society and the Town of Concord.

READ ON FOR MORE EVENTS:

Former Thoreau Farm Trust president Lucille Stott

Lucille Stott, former president of Thoreau Farm Trust, presents her new book, “Saving Thoreau’s Birthplace: How Citizens Rallied to Bring Henry Out of the Woods”

 Sun., Nov., 18, 2 pm, Thoreau Farm
The book launch will be followed by an author reception and book signing.

The Sunday, August 18 events are FREE and open to the public. Light refreshments will be served. Please RSVP to Margaretcb@Thoreaufarm.org .

Sponsored by Thoreau Farm and the Thoreau Society.